overland

80/20 Interior Buildout for Camper

OTG Ben

OTG Principal Explorer
Staff member
Admin
If you've been following our IG feed, you saw that our Ram 3500 was outfitted with an AT Overland Atlas Camper this March. All of AT's camper models (save the Aterra) come as raw shells, meaning they don't come with any sort of interior storage/buildout. The owner can simply leave it as it, but many folks, like myself decide to do their own buildouts. Rather than drop $10k on storage modules from Goose Gear, I thought it would be more fun to design my own interior, and then build it out using 80/20 aluminum extrusions (the same stuff GG uses for to frame all of their modules).

This is one of those situation's where I wish I was an engineer by training, or at least had the CAD skills to design everything on the computer. However, this may not have worked out so well, as the Ram 3500's truck bed is not a perfect rectangle! It's actually more like a trapezoid, and the height of the box is different if you measure from the bed at the tailgate vs where it meets the cab-- ugh!! With theses challenges in mind, I figured it made the most sense to draw everything up with approximate dimensions based on the truck bed measurements, and then to create a prototype using cheap 1x1" wood boards. Thank god I went this route because I found a few flaws in my initial design for things that are hard to account for with even a CAD modeled design. For example, I hadn't accounted for extra 1/2" of space that was needed to allow the dometic fridge door to open and close.