overland

Two-way radio comms -- GMRS and amateur (ham)

Brian.Whitaker

Trail Grom
OTG folks -- Although I'm just getting into overlanding and appreciate the info shared here, I am an experienced radio operator and support EmComm for my community. As I didn't see many references to radio comms on the site so far, I figured I'd start a thread and try to strike up some discussion on this and offer help where I can.

I'm planning a trip to the Lost Coast here in a couple of weeks, and here's the way I'm looking to use radios:

() Right now, we are the only vehicle, so radio comms will be to anyone monitoring in the area and less likely vehicle-to-vehicle in a group.

() I've had a GlobalStar sat phone which I've never found to work reliably; I gave that up for sat messaging service on my Garmin GPS66i. I'll be futzing with that thing a lot ahead of the trip. It sends messages to mobile numbers, which only then can be replied to. I'll be sending out a few messages to friends here before I head out to establish that line of comms.

() I'll be looking for a GMRS repeater in the area, and will map it's coverage in a site mapping tool I pay for. I figure if there's a repeater in the area, that's the best channel to be monitoring and use, even if only for simplex.

() I'll be looking for an amateur repeater in the area, again trying to anticipate coverage. I'll favor 2meter b/c of terrain and better chances of finding someone on. I'll also monitor 2meter FM simplex calling frequency (146.520MHz).

() My rig is a Yaesu FT8900, which I've mod'd for GMRS operation. Antennas are a quad-band (10m, 6m, 2m, 70cm) and a dual-band (2m, 70cm). Both are broad enough band at 70cm to do OK for GMRS. 70cm is at about 440MHz... GMRS simplex and repeater outputs are near 462.500MHz, and the repeater inputs are at 467.500MHz.